Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The following is a series I like to call ‘Identity’.  These were taken with an old Nikon on film and I had developed them myself so these are all scans of the original prints.

I was spending a semester abroad in Austin, TX at St. Edward’s University, and I was not at all ready to leave Lebanon. So I used one of my photography assignments to explore the identity crises I was having. The pictures represent elements of identity, things we use to identify our selves or things, etc..

The best feeling of accomplishment I have experienced was in a darkroom after seven hours of trial and error.

Click to enlarge photos and enjoy the quotes in between.

“I seem to have run in a great circle, and met myself again on the starting line.”― Jeanette Winterson, Oranges are Not the Only Fruit

“I seem to have run in a great circle, and met myself again on the starting line.”
― Jeanette Winterson, Oranges are Not the Only Fruit

“Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.”― Oscar Wilde

“Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.”
― Oscar Wilde

“Nothing of me is original. I am the combined effort of everyone I've ever known.”― Chuck Palahniuk, Invisible Monsters

“Nothing of me is original. I am the combined effort of everyone I’ve ever known.”
― Chuck Palahniuk, Invisible Monsters

“We know what we are, but not what we may be.”― William Shakespeare

“We know what we are, but not what we may be.”
― William Shakespeare

“It's like everyone tells a story about themselves inside their own head. Always. All the time. That story makes you what you are. We build ourselves out of that story.”― Patrick Rothfuss, The Name of the Wind

“It’s like everyone tells a story about themselves inside their own head. Always. All the time. That story makes you what you are. We build ourselves out of that story.”
― Patrick Rothfuss, The Name of the Wind

“Perhaps it's impossible to wear an identity without becoming what you pretend to be.”― Orson Scott Card, Ender's Game

“Perhaps it’s impossible to wear an identity without becoming what you pretend to be.”
― Orson Scott Card, Ender’s Game

“A girl should be two things: who and what she wants.”― Coco Chanel, The Gospel According to Coco Chanel: Life Lessons from the World's Most Elegant Woman

“A girl should be two things: who and what she wants.”
― Coco Chanel, The Gospel According to Coco Chanel: Life Lessons from the World’s Most Elegant Woman

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”― Mahatma Gandhi

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

When you meet a man who is broken, pick him up and carry him. When you meet a woman who’s broken, put her all into your arms. Cause we don’t know where we come from … we don’t know where we are. ”
― Laurie Anderson

“Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one's definition of your life, but define yourself.”― Harvey Fierstein

“Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one’s definition of your life, but define yourself.”
― Harvey Fierstein

