Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yea, so my research has lead me to the fact that I cannot do political science/international affairs. I just hate politics and have been blissfully ignorant for too long to get into it now. I feel like I can maybe accomplish what I want with a degree in Communication, which is much more realistic for me.

From being in DC and around my friends who have a Masters degree international relations I can safely say to those of you who might be considering such a degree:  you should not only have an already built in interest, you should also have  a strong and elaborate database of knowledge and research in international affairs and public relations, or else, FUGGEDABOUDIT!

Speaking of politics, me and the afore-mentioned friends were discussing plans one week and the American among us came up with an interesting observation (that is sadly, quite accurate) and he compiled our responses into a hilarious mini dialogue:

Why Lebanese politics never change

Leb 1: “Let’s go to an event on how we can change Lebanese politics, sponsored by Take Back Parliament, a youth movement working towards a better Lebanon and for supporting independent, secular, non-corrupt individuals who stand for social justice”
Leb 2: “Can’t we just have argileh?”
Leb 3: “I get emails from that movement. I don’t read them. I think I signed their petition. I didn’t read it either”
Leb 1 again: “Bas inno, it’s kteer important and stuff”
Leb 4: “I’m not going”

I know many of us are Arabs living abroad, but the attitude of ‘anything we do cannot impact the outcome of our country’ is what is holding us back as a people. Don’t get me wrong, I am unfortunately guilty of this too.

To quote one of my favorite people in the world, Captain Jack Sparrow:

“The problem is not the problem, the problem is your attitude about the problem, do you understand?”

Now while you ponder on that thought, I leave you with one of the best songs ever, enjoy!

