Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I was inspired by this Ted Talk by Sarah Kay about “spoken word poetry” to make this list. If you haven’t seen it, I really suggest you do (But read my blog post first!), and if you don’t have 20 mins watch the beginning and the end, just don’t miss her poems B and Hiroshima, she is awesome!
Anyway here are ten things that I know to be true, and also ten things that I need to come to terms with myself:

1- The grass is never greener on the other side.
2- What you see is what you get, whether it’s in family, friends, boyfriends, girlfriends, spouses; there is just no changing anyone.
3- Food that you eat after 8PM DOES count towards your daily calorie count, so does the food you eat off someone else’s plate, and NO the calories in the cookie do not evaporate when it crumbles. More importantly, you will NOT lose weight and keep it off without exercising. Same goes for those of you trying to gain weight. Even those who want to maintain, you just shouldn’t live without exercise.
4- You can never, and I mean never, be productive on a Monday. Unless the Apocalypse is scheduled for later that week.
5- Journalism is not a fruitful major and is a bad idea for any one hoping to make an independent living off of it. Unless you’re Robert Fisk or Arianna Hunffington!
6- No one wants to give you money or a free cruise. It is always a scam!
7- We will most likely not be alive to witness Lebanon getting promoted from ‘developing country’. I do sincerely hope I am wrong.
8- You cannot call in a special order regarding your children. For example. I should not and most probably will not have four children in this order: A boy, twin girls and another boy.
9- Materialistic mementos with nothing but emotional attachment only weigh you down and we should all consider minimalist lifestyles.

Last but certainly not least,

10- Nothing ever goes according to plan, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t HAVE a plan! It only means, don’t get disappointed, just get better at adapting to new plans!

You might wonder why I am sharing this list of things that are ‘true-to-my-world’ with you. Well, I figured there might be one or two of you out there who think like me, behave like me, procrastinate like me and are frustrated with their life, like me, and I wanted to tell you: you are not alone.
Moreover, I figured that if I publicize the list, maybe then, I will believe it.

